Interview: Chef Palash Gomez


 

In the series of introducing new chefs, today I’m gonna introduce you the chef who renovated the menu of Olivo‘s restaurant at Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel Beirut.

Olivo's 002

 

1- How did you decide to be a chef?

A: I was not planning to become a chef, it just happened, it was by accident.

2- Who are your teachers? Who inspired you?

A: I am a self motivated chef, my teenage experience inspired me to become the chef I am today.

When I was a teenager I was living in India and one day I visited a hotel restaurant, got inspired and fascinated with the food and the delicious presentation then decided I want to become an international chef.

3- Were you always cooking the same type of culinary? Or it changed from one country to another?

A: No, I am a multi skilled chef and I like to always explore different types of culinary. And yes, my cooking style definitely changes whenever I change a country. I get inspired by the country traditional food and techniques as well as the special ingredients and secret recipes that each and every region has.

4- What is the kitchen tool that you can’t live without?

A: knife, peeler and hand blender are definitely essential to me.

5- What characterizes your cuisine?

A: It’s a Mediterranean Cuisine with specialty in some dishes and appetizers like the Char grilled

Asparagus and Aubergine rolls that have a unique taste.

6- What’s your favorite dessert?

A: Rasgulla; it’s a cheese-based, syrupy dessert popular in India, the dish is made from ball-shaped dumplings cooked in light syrup made of sugar.

7- What advice can you give for the housewives who are inspired by your style of cookery?

A: Just follow the recipes and cook your dishes with all your heart, by putting a little of your own taste in it.

 

Did you try Olivo’s new menu?

What is your favorite dish?

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

