Batroun… On a Sunny Day!


I don’t work on Saturdays and when the weather is good, I like to spend the day the right way!

Road-trips are my thing and if I have a good companion, I enjoy them more…

When I woke up this Saturday, the sun was shining so bright, as if it was calling me to go after it and what is the sun without the beach? ==> My destination was to one of the oldest cities in the world: Batroun!

Batroun 009

The name Batroun derives from the Greek, Botrys. Historians believe that the Greek name of the town originates from the Phoenician word, bater, which means to cut and it refers to the maritime wall that the Phoenicians built in the sea to protect them from tidal waves.

I parked my car and took a walk in the old souk, I never knew that the town boasts so many historic churches, both Catholic and Greek Orthodox. I visited two of the most attractive churches, St. Stephan Cathedral and Lady of the Sea Church. I wanted to see the St. Georges Cathedral from the inside, but it was closed.

As we walked further, we passed by the fishing port

As we were walking towards the Lady of the Sea Church, we passed by a calm and friendly street

A breathtaking view captured us when we reached the Lady of the Sea Church

Batroun 061

 

We were captivated by the beautiful sight of the blue waters and the ancient Phoenician wall that was built for protection from tidal waves

Batroun is one of the cities that I always admire no matter how many times I visit.

Have you been to Batroun Lately?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Batroun… On a Sunny Day!

  1. Majiji December 30, 2014 at 8:06 am Reply

    Hi!
    Batroun is really a nice place where I would like to go once (maybe for my next vacation) 🙂
    And the weather is super!
    I discovered your blog thanks to Hellocoton and I like it very much! So, looking forward your next posts!
    Majiji

    Liked by 1 person

    • chanty2 December 30, 2014 at 9:07 am Reply

      I’m glad you like my blog & would love to show you around when you’re here 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] you prefer the view of the ocean, you can head to Jbeil or Batroun, there are a lot of nice places to discover. Waking up to the sound of the ocean, and have the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

