Swiss Ball Hamstring Curl


I started a new workout plan a month and a half ago at Healthy Lifestyle, and from the exercises I have in my plan is the Swiss ball hamstring curl.

To begin, I was scared of the ball because of a previous funny incident that I had when I went to the gym with my sister in Germany, I got a big ball to train with and I got stuck on it! Yup, I did!

So it took me a while to get friendly with the ball again, not to mention that this move needs a lot of focus to keep your balance. It was really hard for me at the beginning, but with time I can do 20 of it 🙂

 

How to do it:

  • Lie on your back with a Swiss ball by your feet.
  • Place your heels on the ball and raise your hips so that your body forms a straight line from shoulders to ankles.
  • Brace your core and roll the ball towards you.
  • Squeeze your hams at the top and lower under control

 

Benefits:

This move specifically isolates your hamstrings to maximize muscle exhaustion at the end of the set and improve strength gains. Because the Swiss ball is an unstable surface, your core will also have to work hard to control the movement.

STRONGER STRIDES

Your hamstrings pull your heels back toward your butt, while your glutes extend your legs back. Training both can lengthen your stride and offer more power to every push-off.

BETTER BALANCE

Many hamstring exercises also challenge your stability. The result is a body that can recover quickly when knocked off-balance.

HEALTHIER KNEES

Your anterior-cruciate ligaments (ACLs) rely on your hamstrings to help them stabilize your knees whenever the knees bend while decelerating. Having a strong set of hamstrings can help your ACLs do their job and lower your risk of injury.

 

Are you familiar with this exercise?  

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

